Flash9 AS3 Lisp Interpreter

Well, one thing is for sure AS3 is inspiring programmers and Solve et Coagula made a Lisp interpreter for Flash9/AS3 as proof. Silverlight has some programming advantages over Flash due to the fact that many languages can be used for it and the DLR. But AS3 is a very fun language and inspires lots of great libraries through it’s simplicity. AS3 is based on the Javascript2 ECMA spec and it proves well that it might really take off and is worth your time to learn, you can make toys at least.

Try the AS3 Lisp intepreter 

Use the commands available here 

Some notes from the author:

AS3 Lisp Source

So I got asked a few times to post the source for the AS3 Lisp. I have and it’s here. Please keep in mind:

  • I wrote this a year and a half ago and didn’t know AS3 or Lisp very well
  • I never intended to release the source so I apologize if anyone is offended by any class names, variable names, function names or comments (such as a function call named getGUI.LoadInterface();)
  • I have since figured out a way better way to handle symbols in the system and it would really clean up a ton of stuff
  • Some one over at YCombinator News noticed that closures don’t seem to work and for that I apologize, if I were rewriting this (which I kinda am just in a different form) I would definitely make closures works since I now realize how important they are to Lisp
Leave a Reply

